Town Council

Silloth-on-Solway Town Council was established in 1938 and is part of the first level of government, with representation closest to the electors. We deal with local issues which specifically affect our town.               

Silloth-on-Solway Town Council is made up of twelve Councillors and each year one of the twelve members is elected to the office of Town Mayor. Our Mayor this year is Cllr. Tony Markley.  Councillors remain on the Council for a four year term of office, to represent the local electors. All Councillors must be resident, local or work in the town. They receive no remuneration and are all volunteers, who willingly give their time and skills for the benefit of the town.

Unlike District and County Councillors, the Town Councillors bring no political allegiances to their work. All Council business is strictly controlled under a code of conduct. Councillors must declare in writing any personal interest and abstain from debating and voting on matters in which they may be regarded to have a prejudicial interest.